Paris Agreement

196 countries/regions have acceded to the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC) which stipulates the principles for climate change and they discuss the administrative instructions at the Conference of the Parties (COP) held annually. At the COP21 held in Paris, France in 2015, the Paris Agreement was adopted as a new international framework for the reduction of greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions beyond 2020.

The Paris Agreement stipulates that all Parties including major emitting countries shall submit and revise the GHG emission reduction target every 5 years, and report the implementation status through a common and flexible manner to receive a review. Moreover, international cooperation including the Joint Crediting Mechanism (JCM) has been included in the Article 6 of the Agreement.

Crossing a threshold* that will bring the Paris Agreement into force, the Paris Agreement entered into force on 4 November 2016. In Japan, the Cabinet approved the conclusion of the Paris Agreement and Japan deposited the instrument of acceptance of the “Paris Agreement” with the Secretary- General of the United Nations at the United Nations Headquarters.

* Ratification by at least 55 Parties to the Convention accounting in total for at least an estimated 55 % of the total global greenhouse gas emissions.

Reference Website